KIJHL AGM — Martel to VP Murdoch Division, league adopts BCHL 30-day suspension, final remains seven games

first_imgIt didn’t take former Leaf Larry Martel long to find a job in hockey.The ex-Leaf president moved across the hallway to office of the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League after being elected as vice-president of the Neil Murdoch Division.The selection of Martel was just one of the news items coming out of the KIJHL AGM this past weekend in Osoyoos.“It was a very good weekend,” KIJHL president Bill Ohlhausen told The Nelson Daily.“There was a lot accomplished.”Martel beat out former Murdoch vice-president Bill Sheard for the position.He joins returning Phil Iddon of Fernie and Jim Harrington of Osoyoos as vice-presidents for the Eddie Mountain and Okanagan Divisions, respectively.Sebastian Valois was elected to the newly created Doug Birks VP. Ohlhausen said other decisions coming from the meeting had league governors vote to adopt the BCHL 30-day suspension for players not reporting to another team when traded.The league also increased the on-ice official fees — referees now receive $100 per game while linesmen get $75.Ohlhausen feels finding officials to work games could be a hurdle this season for the KIJHL.“There are a lot of leagues looking for officials,” Ohlhausen explained. “The work Major Midget, college, WHL, Junior A (BCHL) . . . even the hockey academies are growing all the time.“So it’s quite a juggling act for the person assigning these officials.”Ohlhausen said the league would continue to play a 52-game schedule with teams playing inside the division eight times and home-and-away within the other division in the respective conference.The final ten games consist of Eddie Mountain Division playing the Doug Birks Division and Neil Murdoch playing Okanagan teams.Playoffs would continue to be best-of-seven throughout.There has been talk of the league final reduced to best-of-five series. But that decision was overturned.“There was a lot of conversation about the playoffs,” Ohlhausen said. Some teams wanted to cut down the number of games but in the end they decided to keep it a best-of-seven series throughout the playoffs.”Ohlhausen said the KIJHL opens the 2015-16 season September 11. The last day of the regular season is February 28.LEAGUE NOTES: Bursary winners of $500 each were awarded to Derek Georgopoulos and Joel Burgess of Fernie; Lyle Frank of Beaver Valley and Rory Neary and Aaron Azevedo of Osoyoos.last_img

About the Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *